6/24: A trip to DC, my last baseball game for a while

So, this past Wednesday, 6/24 I attended the Nationals vs. Red Sox game in Washington, D.C.  What a great stadium.  There are so many nice aspects to it.  It has the old school feel, with the press boxes, and such way above the field on the highest possible level.  It has a nice open area in left field.  It’s just an enjoyable place to be.  Ushers also do not harass you as you make your way down to the field level seats, near the dugout even, when the seats are unoccupied.  Not like some New York stadiums we all know too well.  The one thing I don’t like, that “the new shea” has also, it the brick wall behind home plate that prevents you from watching the game.  That is not baseball.  It’s as if they are telling you, you are not good enough to be there.  Makes me wanna put a knee to someone’s groin, cause that’s how pompass I feel it comes off as.  Other than that, a great stadium.

I also attended a pair of Norfolk Tides Minor League games this week.  The Tides are an Orioles farm team, but they were formerly a Mets AAA team.  I went to games in Norfolk on Thursday and Friday, as they played, oddly enough, the Pawtucket Red Sox.  There were a couple of former and future major leaguers on those teams.  Joey Gathright and Jolbert Cabrera play for the Tides, while Javier Lopez, Clay Buchholz, Jed Lowrie and Chris Carter play for the Sox.  Lookout for an Orioles prospect named Brandon Snyder.  He is the Tides first baseman and looked very good.  But what do I know, I just watch the game.  I think I like him cause he smirked at me when I was cheering excessively loudly for him.

As the title of my entry states, the Nationals game will be my last MLB game for about a month.  I chose the wrong time to create a blog.  I spend my summers working as a counselor at a great summer camp, in which I travel the country for 40 days with a group of teenagers.  I could never imagine having more fun, or doing something more adventureous in my life. And I’m not talking skydiving adventureous, though we do go skiing, surfing, white water rafting, and so much more.  I’m just talking about an experience like no other.  No group of kids is ever the same as the next.  They always keep you on your toes.  Something I really enjoy. 

So, I will be away until August 8th, and while I WILL actually be attending a San Francisco Giants game in early August, I will not have a computer, nor be able to blog for the next 40+ days.  When I do return, I will be making a trip to Alaska, followed by one to Chicago to see the White Sox.  So that should be special, and I hope to have a lot to say about that.

Till then, farewell.

Leave a Reply

