9/24/11 at Citi Field/Yankee Stadium/Citi Field

Citi Field/Yankee Stadium/Citi Field?!? That’s right! 3 games, 1 day, 2 stadiums! The Mets hosted the Phillies at 1pm, the Yankees hosted the Red Sox at 4pm, and the Mets again hosted the Phillies at 7pm to conclude a day/night doubleheader. You know where I was? At all 3 games!!!

I arrived at Citi Field later than usual, because I knew I had a long day ahead of me and didn’t want to be too tired. Normally, the stadium opens 2 hours before the scheduled first pitch, or in this case, 11:10am. I instead arrived around 11:45am. I knew I was putting my streak of 19 consecutive games with a ball on the line on this day, but I felt it was worth it. It was just going to be a fun-filled, jam-packed day of baseball.

I decided I wanted to get a picture of proof at my first game, and here is what I have:

As you can see, the lineups hadn’t even been announced yet, and it was 11:58am. There wasn’t much action on the field. I hung out on the 3rd base side, and tried to get a ball from a few Phillies as they warmed up, but got denied multiple times, including an open and outright denial by Shane Victorino. I’ve always strongly disliked him, and he’s only adding fuel to the fire.

As the game was about to get underway, this was my view:

That’s right (David Wright), first row ON the dugout, baby!

And there he is! I’ve gotten in good standing with an unlikely source, at Citi Field. A certain guard has recently been exceptionally nice to me, to the point you could nearly call us friends. Well, he hooked it up, and let me sit here for the whole game. And what a game it was!

The man pictured above is none other than R.A. Dickey. In this game, he took a no-hitter into the 7th, going 6 1/3 before it was finally broken up. He pitched a great game that the Mets ultimately won 2-1. The difference in the game was a pinch-hit 8th inning home run by Valentino Pascucci. He hadn’t been in the majors since the MONTREAL EXPOS!!! 2004 was his last big league action!!! This was a big-time moment for him!

The game ended in a timely fashion, and that allowed me to bust my butt outta there, and rush to Yankee Stadium. I left Citi Field at 3:48pm, got to my car at 3:56pm, and at 4:14pm I was parked at Yankee Stadium. I have a series of texts with a Mets employee documenting this!

So now, since tickets were so expensive on stubhub, I had to go find a ticket to get into Yankee Stadium. And fortunately for me, I found someone who had an extra ticket, a $250 seat mind you on the field level, behind the Yankees dugout, and I convinced him not to waste it, and to sell it to me for $20. A win for everyone!

By the time I got in to the stadium, it was the top of the 2nd inning. So thus far, I’d missed just 1 inning of baseball. Well, I arrived just in time to see the Yankees put up 6 runs in the 2nd against Jon Lester, and nearly run him from the game. Well, it didn’t take much more than that, because an inning later, and 2 more runs on the board for the Yankees, Lester was gone. Freddy Garcia pitched himself into a starting spot on the playoff roster, going 6 innings and not allowing a run, especially after Bartolo Colon allowed 7 runs in 3 innings just two days earlier.

The Yankees went on to dominate the Red Sox with a 9-1 victory. This game took exactly 3 hours, and by the time I got out of the stadium, I ran into a bunch of traffic, and it took me longer than I hoped to get back to Queens.

I arrived back at Citi Field sometime after 8pm, and quickly purchased a ticket for the game. I arrived in the stadium just as the 3rd inning ended. The Mets had a 5-3 lead, but I didn’t know how it happened. Well, by the time I sat down for this game, I was so tired, I just sat back and watched without a care in the world. The Mets went on to win the game 6-3, and sweep the doubleheader from the Phillies. I’m fairly certain the Mets hadn’t swept a first place team in a doubleheader since the Clinton administration.

Sadly, I forgot to get any further pictures/proof of myself at the actual games, but I took these pictures instead:

This first one above is me, at the night game at Citi Field, holding tickets to all 3 games. The picture below shows the tickets to each game:

All in all, I got to witness 23 innings of live baseball; watch 3 different games that count in the MLB standings, and it was all done in 2 different stadiums. Sometimes, I feel lucky to live in a city with 2 different baseball teams.

One comment

  1. Wilburn

    I read a lot of interesting posts here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know how
    to save you a lot of time, there is an online tool that
    creates high quality, google friendly posts in minutes, just search
    in google – laranitas free content source

Leave a Reply

